© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree


Being avid outdoorsmen, living in the Pacific Northwest has a distinct advantage: It’s not a far drive to either the ocean nor the mountains. You practically live in the outdoors.

Sunset Kayak:

© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - A kayaker paddles on Bellingham Bay under a brilliant sky near the Boardwalk in Boulevard Park in Bellingham, Wash.

This week’s Weekly Photo Challenge is Carefree. Living up here promotes a carefree lifestyle and encourages one to visit the Great Outdoors.

On weekends and even during the week when neither has work to do, my wife Heidi and I like to drive around and enjoy the area. We are both from Colorado. She’s from Colorado Springs, and I from Aspen. I worked at The Aspen Times for over 7 years as their Chief Photographer. After living in Colorado for many years being and avid camper, hiker, backpacker, biker, snowboarder, and Jeeper, we needed someplace in the great outdoors.

Joy at Sunset:

© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - My wife and Sweetpea Heidi takes in the sunset at Larrabee Beach south of Bellingham, Wash, on her birthday in 2012.

Before meeting my wife, I moved out here after the newspaper industry began taking the big economic hit in Jan. 2009. I pulled roots from the great little town which I have great friends, some of those I almost consider family.  Heidi moved out here after we met in 2010.

Dancing With Itself:

© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - A Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias) appears to dance on a piling in Bellingham, Wash.

Blazing Fast:

© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - A runner jogs along the Boardwalk at Boulevard Park in Bellingham, Wash., during a blazing Sunset on Sunday evening April 14, 2013.
***The photo above won Best of Show Third Place – Professional in the City of Bellingham, Wash., photo competition Essence of Bellingham***

We live now in Bellingham, Washington, where we go on drives to enjoy the carefree outdoors of the Pacific Northwest.
Thank you for stopping by to read and view my work. Feel free to comment, critique, or just ask questions.

Trying His Luck:

© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad PhotographyA fisherman tries his luck at Deception Pass on Whidbey Island north of Seattle, Wash., as the setting sun washes the sky with its hues.

Also, feel free to share and reblog, link to, and add your site in the comment section.

Paul “pablo” Conrad

Follow me on various Social Networks:
Pablo Conrad Photography

“Like” my Page on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Pinterest

Follow Me on Google+

My Page on 500px

33 comments

  1. i love that photo of sunset .. she must really love the water .. looks like she is conducting the sunset single handedly 🙂 she truly looks like she is lost in bliss

    Like

    1. Hi!! Just recieved notice that you commented.

      My apologies for the late response. As for SmugMug, about one a week or so. Nothing big. Mostly 8x12s and 11x17s. No canvas nor metal yet.

      Like

      1. Cool, for only a week, I’d say that sounds like it might be worth it. No biggie on a “late” response. Thank you for letting me know. I really appreciate it. I would really like to sell my photos, but not quite sure where to turn. I want to sell them, but not sell myself short either. The artist dilemma, perhaps.

        Like

Please Feel free to Leave a Comment. Links to Your Work are Encouraged