© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - Vietnam veteran Howie Berg of Aspen, Colo., touches the facade of the Moving Vietnam Memorial while building it in Rio Grande Park in Aspen.

Why We Are Free: Remembering Those Who’ve Served


As a U.S. Navy veteran, I would like to thank all those who’ve served, and especially all those who have made the ultimate sacrifice upon the Altar of Freedom. Thank You.

Friend and Vietnam veteran Howie Berg touches the names of some of the fallen at The Moving Wall Vietnam Veteran Memorial:

© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - Vietnam veteran Howie Berg of Aspen, Colo., touches the facade of the Moving Vietnam Memorial while building it in Rio Grande Park in Aspen.

Reading the names at The Moving Wall:
© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - A visitor at the Moving Vietnam Memorial Wall at Rio Grande Park reads names inscribed upon the memorial during its stop in Aspen, Colo.

Folding the flag during my dad’s funeral services at Fort Logan National Cemetery:
© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - The Fort Logan Burial Detail folds the flag over the urn of SSgt. (Ret.) Robert L. Conrad during services at the National Cemetery in Denver, Colo.

The Color Guard at the Pitkin County Veteran’s Memorial:
© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - A USMC Color Guard performs during Memorial Day services at the Pitkin County Veteran's Memorial in Aspen, Colo.

Army “Old Guard” veteran Pepper Gomes of Aspen, Colo.

Lauren Twohig, left, Jake Ferlisi, and Sloan Stryker, of Aspen, Colo., listen to Veteran’s Day services.
© Paul Conrad/Pablo Conrad Photography - Lauren Twohig, 10, left,  Jake Ferlisi, 6, and Sloan Stryker, 11, of Aspen, Colo., listen to Veteran's Day services at the Pitkin County Veteran's Memorial.

Thank you for stopping by to read and view my work. All comments are appreciated.

Paul “pablo” Conrad

Pablo Conrad Photography

“Like” my Page on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Pinterest

Follow Me on Google+

My Page on 500px

4 comments

  1. Thanks for your prior service and your father’s. I’m also 3rd generation Air Force. I recently attended an ex-girlfriends service for her father, also military. The honor guard at the service were amazing, a very moving experience.

    Like

    1. Thank you Darren and Thank you for your service.

      I know growing up in the military wasn’t easy. Dealing with moving every few years, dad gone for months at a time, and wondering if dad was even going to come home.

      Thanks again.

      Like

  2. My father was in the military also. We didn’t travel as much as most others in the military and lived off base the majority of the time but my dad traveled far and wide. He is now writing small books for the family detailing his many experiences that I had no idea about. He was in Germany during the cold war and in Vietnam but not in the fighting really. Many other places as well.

    I don’t think I could stand in front of the Vietnam War Memorial without crying my eyes out and wailing. It would be so moving.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your service as well. I know how hard it can sometimes be growing up as a military brat. Both my wife and I grew up in the service. She in the Army, and I in the Air Force.

      The photo of the flag folding over the coffin is my father.

      My dad and father-in-law were both in Germany during the early 70s and my dad was in Thailand during the Vietnam War.

      The photo of the hand on the wall was my friend Howie Berg. He died from cancer shortly after the photo was taken.

      It is difficult to see the Wall and not touch it nor become emotional.

      Thank you again for your comment.

      Like

Please Feel free to Leave a Comment. Links to Your Work are Encouraged